The Different Types of Yoga

Yoga is unquestionably one of the most popular exercises these days. However, this physical routine is not really new. In fact, it s been around for at least five thousand years. Basically, the Asanas (or yogic poses) had been passed on from generations to generations through oral tradition; the earliest reference to it being found in the Indus Valley where urbane civilization existed centuries ago.

There are many available yogic systems that people can opt for. The one you choose must be something that will help achieve your personal goal in doing the exercise. Some people perform it for weight loss while some just wish to have a healthier body. If you are not familiar with the types of yogic systems, here s their list:


This type concentrates on gentle poses that are designed to prepare the body for meditation. When you do this, you will be taught to align your body correctly and how to control your breathing.


This is a comparatively new yogic style which emphasizes the importance of alignment as well as a playful spirit. The poses of Anasura may be pretty challenging but they can open your heart and help you connect with others.


This type involves synchronized breathing with progressive poses. It s designed to enhance stamina and flexibility.


This kind of yoga includes all the components of fitness such as muscular strength, endurance, cardiovascular health, and weight loss.


This is a basic yogic style which incorporates Asanas, pranayama (breathing exercise), meditation, and kundalini (psyco-spiritual energy) into one holistic system to achieve self-realization or enlightenment.


This is a traditional type of the exercise that combines pranayama, postures, meditation, chanting, prayer, and self-inquiry.


This stands for Integral Science of Hatha and Tantric Arts. The yogic form focuses on opening the energy channels all over the body using postures, meditation, and visualization.


Compared with other yogic styles, the poses in Iyengar are done slower and held longer. It also makes use of equipment like blankets, straps, cushions, and blocks to help the beginners, disabled, or elderly, to perform the poses. If you are recovering from an injury, this style can suit you well.


This method emphasizes the ethical and spiritual aspects of performing the exercise. It is composed of challenging asanas and also focuses on Sanskrit chanting, scriptural study, vegetarianism, non-violence, devotion to God, and meditation. Music is also played during yogic sessions.
- Kali Ray Triyoga
- This practice incorporates pranayama, meditation, and dancelike movements.
- Kripalu

Also known as the yoga of consciousness, this is a mild and introspective form of the exercise.


This yogic style involves the awakening of the energy at the base of the spine and then drawing it upwards. A kundalini class also often includes pranayama, meditation, and chanting


This is an American interpretation of the yogic style Ashtanga. It combines meditative breathing, stretching, and strength training. A lot of the Power asanas are similar to basic calisthenics.


This is a fantastic yogic style for beginners because it has chair poses. This type is known for healing and transformation.


This is a very active form of yoga that focuses on the breath and movement coordination.


One Response to “The Different Types of Yoga”

  1. buck
    August 27, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    Wow! Thank you! I permanently needed to write on my site something like that. Can I include a fragment of your post to my blog?

Leave a Reply